Office of Alumni Relations

President's Medal of Excellence | Distinguished Alumni Awards | Early Career Awards | Morton Deutsch Awards for Social Justice

President's Medal of Excellence Recipients

See Keynote Speaker Section.



Distinguished Alumni and Early Career Award Recipients

Distinguished Alumni Awards

Louise Margaret Ada (M.A. '84) is a physiotherapist and currently teaches in and leads the neurology program in the Discipline of Physiotherapy at the University of Sydney. Her passion for teaching is driven by a desire to produce the highest quality graduates with the end goal of improving patient outcomes, particularly for people with stroke. She is the leading physiotherapist in Australia and eighth in the world. She has over 90 publications, her work has been cited 1,400 times and she has received $3 million in research grants. She is also the head of the World Congress of Physiotherapy.

Sybil Jordan Hampton (Ed.D. ‘91)
was one of the Little Rock Nine-the first students to integrate into Little Rock Central High School-and later she was the first African-American student to graduate from the school. Beyond her historical significance, she has had a distinguished career in her own right. She has held leadership roles in universities in New York, Wisconsin and Texas and executive positions in two foundations of national renown: Manager of the GTE Corporate Foundation in Stamford, CT; and President Emerita of the Winthrop Rockefeller Foundation in Little Rock, AR. She has received the Iona College Woman of Achievement Award, the Madison, WI NAACP Education Award, and the National Conference for Community and Justice Humanitarian Award. She was also inducted into the Arkansas Black Hall of Fame.

Henrietta Kralovec (Ed.D. ‘87) is currently associate professor of Teacher Education and program director of the M.Ed. in Secondary Education at the University of Arizona-South. Her program has received the Peter Likins Inclusive Excellence Award from the University of Arizona and a Best Practices Award from the Mexican government for raising over $3 million in federal funds to prepare STEM teachers for Title One schools in Arizona border communities. In addition to many other accomplishments, Dr. Kralovec is a founding member of the International Research Consortium on Human Development at the Universidad de Guanajuato. She is also a leading voice in the US to end homework.

Gabriela Simon-Cereijido (M.S. '01) is an accomplished educator, researcher and pioneer in the field of bilingual speech pathology. Simon-Cereijido has given lectures and keynote speeches locally, nationally and internationally. She is part of an Interdisciplinary Team working on a project to improve oral health outcomes for Los Angeles children and families (the Dental Transformation Initiative, Dental Pilot Program) and is committed to the education and well-being of communities and students from all backgrounds. Her work has been published in several national and international journals and she has received many awards including the Trailblazer Award from the Latino Alumni Association of Columbia University and, most recently, the Thesis Advisor Appreciation Award, Honors College, California State University, Los Angeles.


Early Career Awards

Bradford Manning
 (M.A. ‘10) embodies exactly about what Teachers College is about—giving back to the community and finding well-balanced meaning and success. Manning and his brother Bryan, both who are legally blind due to Stargardt’s disease, founded Two Blind Brothers—a fashion company that sells soft, touchable, Braille enhanced clothes for those who are sight-impaired. Seventy percent of their business’ workforce is blind or visually-impaired. All the profits are directed to the Foundation for Fighting Blindness. Two Blind Brothers has been featured on ELLEN and NBC News. 

Thabo Msibi (M.Ed. ‘08) was born in South Africa during apartheid (which ended when he was 10 years old), yet he was able to persevere and succeed. Since receiving his degree from TC’s International Education Development program as a Fulbright Scholar, he has earned a Ph.D. from Cambridge University in Sexuality Education supported by a Gates Cambridge Scholarship. (He is the first TC alumnus to receive a Gates Cambridge Award.) Msibi is Dean and Head of School at the University of KwaZulu-Natal’s Edgewood Campus and is the youngest Dean in South Africa. He provides leadership on youth, sexuality and gender issues locally, regionally and internationally. He has received the Distinguished Teachers Award from UKZN.


Morton Deutsch Awards for Social Justice



Morton Deutsch Award for Outstanding Graduate Student Paper